Reviews: The Last Deputy

“This is a great read.  Easy to read about the interesting life of a end of the century kid.”   Jim Solum. Los Angeles, CA. June 28, 2012


“Fantastic, love the history of Los Angeles; my Grandfather was a part of this rich history.”  Claude Booth, Orange County, CA



“Great Summer Reading...” Mary Margret, Fresno



“...Good job!” Gloria Henne-Dryer, Palm Springs,July 23, 2012



“Loved the Book!”Claudia Heller, Duarte, California, Nov.2 I, 2012



“I really enjoyed this book - it was an easy read, entertaining and informative - I didn't know about the typewriter history and how it allowed women to work in the LAPD until I read this. I'm an LA native - so I really appreciated learning about my city's earlier years. Then there is the story, itself - about real people, Deputy King and Wyatt Earp and incidents. I didn't know about Hearst's holdings in Mexico - I would like to see more from this author; he kept me turning the page!
I'm hoping it's in paperback by Christmas - I would like to gift several friends with it.”, C. Garcia, Nevada, November 14

 

 

Format: Kindle Edition

This was an interesting read. Liberties were obviously taken in creating dialogue for the characters. That left me wondering about the 'non-fiction' categorization, but it does make the read interesting. I was disapionted with the abrupt end of the story without covering more of his life past the age of 30.

By lorwi on December 4, 2012 4 out of 5 stars

 

Full of Historic Los Angeles History~

Format: Paperback

I found the opening sequence cinematic, story is interesting, the characters were brave and bold. This book is chocked full of historic Los Angles history, and an eye opener to the past. It is easy to read, and enjoyable. I highly recommend it.  5 out of 5 stars

By 1DreamReader on October 18, 2016,  

Reviews: A Fraternity of Gunslingers

The Last Deputy

5.0 out of 5 starsEnjoyable, easy read

July 24, 2012

Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

I haven't finished this as of yet - but am enjoying it. It's an easy read and really does bring this period to life. I like learning about the details of everyday living at the turn of the century (in my home town). Like the explanation for the Remington Typewriters - I never knew these were made by the same compnay that makes the rifles. I know that has nothing to do directly with the storyline, but i like the way the author has woven in these little details. He brings the characters to life. The story is very real.
I would like to see additional books from the author on similar subjects.
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Review: Lies & Betrayal

Format: Kindle Edition

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

 

I felt like I was right there sitting in that courtroom in this highly intense criminal drama. And all of this is a true account; only the dialogue was changed to protect the innocent, if any. We find a chief of police from a small northern California town has been doing some evil deeds with conviction of harboring a mass amount of illegal weapons and rape charges; including his 2 wives. His current wife has some very dark secrets of her own that will finally be revealed. Things get really heated when his defense lawyer and the prosecuting attorney go head to head in the courtroom. It turns into a real firestorm. Without spoiling this story, I will just say it was a real shocker to believe things that go on in our legal system. If you love courtroom dramas, this is one not to miss!

Lorraine Carey, October 30 2016. 5 0ut of 5 stars

 

Awesome Read!⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

What a great read! While reading Lies and Betrayal I was envisioning the TV show Twin Peaks. This read is full of courtroom drama and the sex under the covers. I really like that this is basically a true story. I give this book 5 stars and 2 thumbs up. Great job Mr. King. Dreamer1 November 28 2016. 5 stars out of 5 stars.

 

Everything is based on the truth? That is something to read!

Nancy Lucky, December 6 2016 (tweeted)

 

 

3.0 out of 5 starsInteresting slice-of-life from the period.

February 17, 2016

Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase

An interesting look at early Los Angeles. The book was entertaining through most of it, but it sort of abruptly ended. I would like more detail about some of the other "adventures" mentioned

November 14, 2013

Format: Kindle Edition

The Last Deputy is a nicely packaged historical read, mostly based on recorded events about Arthur Moor King, who was indeed the last deputy to Wyatt Earp. Arthur King was not just a great gunslinger, he was quite an interesting character with an unusual and hopscotch life the he fought hard to carve for himself.

I did not read whether or not Charles R King is related to Arthur Moor King, but this is possibly how the author has so many documented facts in his possession.

For the past few months I'd been reading more contemporary fiction than usual, so this Charles R King read was a refreshing change of pace. I enjoy reading about the old west and per the author's notes, understand the dialogue was recorded, not taken from scripts in the author's head. Even if these conversations were somewhat altered for improved reading, they were fascinating as heck and kept me reading. The Last Deputy is a grand depiction of how tough times really were back then (late 1800s - early 1900s), and it always intrigues me to read stories of how strong one had to be to survive.


I highly recommend this non-fiction tale to those who like to have fun while learning history.⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now